background image


Sugarbush Racing Club Finishes 2015 Season

The Sugarbush Racing Club held its eighth and final race on Thursday, March fifth with forty-one racers vying for award winning points. Gusty winds adversely affected the times of many racers while the lulls apparently helped others.

Elizabeth Walker certainly sewed up the women’s division championship with yet another first place finish. Anne Halvorsen, racing for the first time since her knee was replaced in November, demonstrated that she has not lost a step by taking second place! Laurie Landau secured third place over Paula Baldwin and Caryl Hurwitz who were virtually tied. Louise Messner and Carol Miner came in next among the women while first time racer Kathy Bollerud and Jeanne Monroe appeared to be closely matched.

Results should undoubtedly show Rick Duckworth to be the winner in the men’s division as he has won every race he has entered this year by commanding margins! Dave Seymour was second this week and John Lussier was third. First time racer Seth Teller very wisely allowed his employer, Brook Weston, to come in just ahead to take fourth place. It is rumored that Diane Sawyer and Barbara Walters are competing to gain an interview with Bernie Pistilli about his two incredible runs. Bernie is mum about his new technique but is considering a position as racing coach at GMVS! Mike Chapman donned a very stylish speed suit to narrowly defeat Dave Ellison while Gil Edwards, Ray Bollerud and Al Carr were separated by less than a second. Meanwhile, Michael Sharkey’s new skis seem to be worth what he paid for them and Stan Needleman edged both Charlie Baldwin and Manny Apigian.

This week’s apres race party was hosted by the White Horse Inn with copious hors d’oeuvres and plate after plate of delicious cookies! Raffled prizes included a Mountainside Ski Service gift certificate. This season’s awards banquet will be held at the Mountain View Room of the Gatehouse Lodge on March 24. Self appointed statistician Peter Wicklund will reveal the winners of the divisions and team competitions through his very complicated and sophisticated formulas. The results will posted on the racing page.